Last Lazarus

Here I am again
a last Lazarus trading whiskey
for air
bartering blood and a good name
I General, I Custer
swapping reason
for a waking death
for my soul has died
while you have returned
I say soul, but I don’t mean
that vague thing
we mention in half facts
I refer to the inner me
you half healed
but here I am again
a last Lazarus trading whiskey
for air
Jesus will not come and raise me
God did not do this
I General, I Custer
but the Bighorn ended
and I live in an obscure
town, where my soul
has grown too thin
and cries
for the last Lazarus

To finally arise

Leave a Reply

