Occupied

Time is biting me whence I know I’m not time less I’m instead placed in it firmly
ferment and filaments adjusting. This style is not mine not one I tried but the pacing has begun
like a scorpionic eagle grounded and
waiting like
a tamed troubadour
my head like the clothes
in the washing machine, spinning but with the purpose of becoming clean, fresher but weighted by
the rinse water of that last cycle before the door lets them go, released freed and then further captured on drying devices paraded even.
drying on
the radiator
displayed
sameness, roughness
and softness
all displayed like grey jeans and work clothes which uniform and conform to what rules
can be followed or swallowed even durance of that is less potable than the stain that still remains
and the offending item is consigned to a second wash and drying.

my head my thinking
is fine it’s well con –
– structed

but a little powder residue is always left behind in the draw
with tiny
white specks
and the scent of freshness
flows up each nostril
mixing with
my smoke

10 thoughts on “Occupied”

  1. Wow.

    my head like the clothes
    in the washing machine, spinning but with the purpose of becoming clean, fresher but weighted by
    the rinse water of that last cycle before the door lets them go

    This is a really strong poem, Bruce & I am loving these lines especially.

Leave a Reply

