Philosophic Drinking Fool

 

My glass is half empty, but I should be sure

That my glass is not half full, or could it be so

That my glass is neither half full nor half empty.

So by this premise what exactly is the state of the glass?

When not full or not empty,

And where does its usefulness lie.

If the glass being full equals A and if the glass being empty equals B,

Then is my glass is ‘Not A’ being neither A or B,

But of A alike.

Could it be that while I ponder these questions many.

That my pint has gone flat,

And I missed the point of the glass.

That its contents should be consumed,

So I can enjoy another.

2004

7 thoughts on “Philosophic Drinking Fool”

Leave a Reply

