Carved out beast

The heart lies on the plate
in a bleeding reign
whispering  ‘do do de do do,
I’m bleeding in the reign’
Not a silly Sinatra tappin’
dance number this time
It’s sovereignty cannot
be explained or questioned
I am unable to escape
this facade, where normality
has withdrawn to all edges
of the room, but neither
can I kneel to this grotesque
carved out beast
All arteries are as tendrils
trying to grasp my will
and strangle aghast
any progression of escape
that can be made

‘ do do de do do,
I’m bleeding in the reign’
‘ do do de do do,
you’ll be happy again’

It sings with promise, but my brain denies it
as a warm blanket of darkness envelops

Leave a Reply

