What once upon a tale was and will be nevermore

Whence I hear your name tantalized to my brain

I am reduced to a ponder – of the nevermore

of something lost like an old scarf left drifting

in another’s rain – I should dance

but I can’t recall the melody – we’ve grown dull’d

in times brutal call – now I am but cuts of meat

waiting for a skilful butcher to market me forth

to those that may devour me, tied in butchers string

let loose my dripping – tear’d and oozing an glazed

as an old scarf twists and pirouettes

gains height and falls again – while I ponder those tears

of the nevermore- that fall so abrupt and hold the scarf

trophy’d and clad in old scars rife’d to be itched

and I regale that what once upon a tale was and will be nevermore

 

2011

8 thoughts on “What once upon a tale was and will be nevermore”

Leave a Reply

