Family

I often think on those Thatcher years
and on the transition to that of John Major
and those times my father not a pleasant man
in those years, frustrated and unemployed
lashing out at his family, heating fists and minds alike
I will never be a Thatcherite, never will I be a fanatic
of any political inclination, especially in my hometown.

Sometimes it seems little has changed
except the blooming of more CCTV cameras.
We always laugh it’s getting to 1984
more and more each year

Many a window was put down in the 1990’s,
a few still are now put down on a Friday night,
Many put downs were flung by my father
he broke all my windows then,
and with much guilt I became
a little like him for six years breaking windows,
doors just to holt an argument or three
Were these my blairite years? Bitter blairite

Times where castle’s had double mortgages
and claimed for thrice, The CSA hounded
pay wages and Tax compounded them
finally escaping to University for one year
but with distinction gained, but no jobs
in an economy distraught by mad decisions

But I am fairly content now with a government
that nobody could have gleaned by the bitter
Ballard, but I still think that even if I didn’t like
Dame Thatcher there was a damned good reason
she got her moniker  ‘The Iron lady’ is not for turning

V 1.4

14 thoughts on “Family”

    1. Oh She was very much a Lady, though I disagreed with her policies in my youth, she held the country together like you would not believe. Anyway the point is not the politics which I care not to know. It is the effects that I witnessed the down trodden public as jobs were few and jobless so many. People frustrated lashing out at family, getting drunk and kicking in windows

      1. And yet it was thatcher’s conservative politics that dictated her policies that caused the public to become downtrodden enough to become frustrated – lash out at their families – get drunk and kick out windows.

        One thing is for certain while one can ignore the cause {American conservatives are in denial as well} on can not ignore the resulting consequences that overwhelms as it destroys them economically.

    1. Thanks, oh oops still a work in progress, it is an expanding life snippet but with less joking and a another kind of wit. at first it was a poem then prose them back to a poem its a bit unsure of itself right now. Cheers for pointing out the typo appreciate it

  1. i have to admit that i had to google thatcher to make sure that i knew exactly who you were talking about.. the best poetry is the one which makes you search for more information and makes you even more interested in the topic at hand.. great and interesting post!!! 🙂

  2. I was fortunate (and not) to have grown under the dim light of a family of political complacency. I do like how you can look back and reflect on these times with a mature understanding, even though I do sense a bit of tongue in cheek toward the idea of extremity. Great write.

  3. She was a bitch look what she did to the miners , she sent the police back a hundred years to when it was common to see police attack , charge with horse and I was surprised she did not have them using live bullets!! She bred a selfish me, me, me generation of grab what you can yuppies! She started a war..mind you she did have the good grace to finish it to! I do not have a good word or memory of her…perhaps her tearful exit from NO10 but then there is no need for me to become a bitch!!….. oops I think that hit my unfunny bone!!

Leave a comment